Where’s My Rhythm!

Week 3

Building A Relationship With God


I received a beautiful Fender guitar last year.  A precious gift from my husband who wanted me to have my heart’s desire. Armed with only an instrument and aspiration, I chose a song and dug my heels in. I have struggled most with finding my rhythm. I can get the technical part and go through the motions; but that rhythm! To make each separate movement melt into a beautiful cadence.
I have put a great deal of time and effort into learning just one song. I’ve been discouraged and frustrated. My fingertips sore and finally chalosed over; but I press on toward the reward of my work and dedication. The accomplishment of learning this one song and the joy from finally finding my rhythm is worth all the effort, commitment and pain.
Psalms 32:18 (KJV)

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go: I will guide thee with mine eye.

Galatians 6:9 (KJV)

And let us not be weary in well doing: for in due season we shall reap, if we faint not.

Building a relationship with God is much like learning the guitar.  You must cultivate your precious gift.  You dedicate a piece of each day to learning. Every situation you face is an opportunity to apply what you have been learning. You will have times of frustration and discouragement; but if you just keep pressing forward, you will find that sweet rhythm. The priceless place of being in line with God’s will for you. 
Weekly Exercise:

It takes many simultaneous movements to create a rhythm. You must learn each one separately and then put them together. Discouragement comes when you try to do too many things at once before you are ready. 
Find quiet time with God daily. Talk to Him like He’s your best friend. Give thanks to Him for the blessings He has given you and ask Him to help you apply what you are learning in your daily routine.
Journaling Exercises:

-What do this week’s scriptures mean to you?

-What can you learn about God through these scriptures?

-Think about what you have learned so far. Write each individual thing down.

-How does each thing work together, or enhance each other?

-How can you knock out frustration by drawing strength from God’s word?

“And whatsoever ye do, do it heartily, as to the Lord, and not unto men; Knowing that of the Lord ye shall receive the reward of the inheritance: for ye serve the Lord Christ.”

Colossians 3:23-24 KJV

http://bible.com/1/col.3.23-24.kjv