Take Out The Trash

Week 11

Building A Relationship With God

 

John 16:33 (KJV)

These things I have spoken unto you, that in me ye might have peace. In the world ye shall have tribulation: but be of good cheer; I have overcome the world.

 

Matthew 5:16 (KJV)

Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven.

 

Exodus 14:14 (KJV)

The Lord shall fight for you, and ye shall hold your peace.

 

Proverbs 30:5 (KJV)

Every word of God is pure: he is a shield unto them that put their trust in him.

 

Micah 6:8 (KJV)

He hath shewed thee, O Man, what is good; and what doth the Lord require of thee, but to do justly, and to love mercy, and to walk humbly with thy God?

 

Micah 7:7-8 (KJV)

7-Therefore I will look unto the Lord; I will wait for the God of my salvation: my God will hear me.

8-Rejoice not against me, O mine enemy: whin I fall, I shall arise; when I sit in darkness, the Lord shall be a light unto me.

 

Does your trash can ever overflow? Do you go to put something in and have to push down, compacting the contents to make room for more? Eventually, trash starts spilling out and you are forced to take it out. Sometimes, the bag will burst at the seems from the pressure of being overfilled!

 

This week I found my trash overflowing and it burst out through tears, hurt feelings and venting. Day after day of being treated like I am stupid. Sitting at work listening to lies and watching someone’s pride and drive to control others. Hearing news of my friend being treated the same way. Coming home to contractors doing more damage than the tornado did. Seeing my husband’s frustration and hurt in dealing with the situation. Trying the entire week to deal with all this garbage by compacting it instead of simply taking it out.

 

It is so hard. I thought I was taking it all to God by reading in my bible at lunch and talking to Him through each day. In a way, I was taking these things to Him; but I was just venting to Him. We can’t trust in God and hold on to our hurt. We must completely let go and trust in Him to take care of the situation. This act brings peace to our mind and spirit, instead of torment.

 

I know all of this, still, I fell hard this week. Watching my husband, who is a Mighty Man of God, struggle. Seeing my friend, who is a Mighty Woman of God, struggle. Watching Godly people, whom I love, suffer added to my hurt.

 

I tell you all of this, not to vent and complain to you; but as an example. We all struggle. We all have hard weeks. We all fall and we all have overflowing trash cans from time to time.

 

God tells us in John 16:33 that in this world we will have tribulation; but to be of good cheer because He has overcome the world. He tells us this, He says, so that we can have peace. In Micah 7:7 He tells us to look to Him and wait on Him and He will hear us. In verse 8 He tells us we will fall; but we will rise and that when we sit in darkness, He will be our light.

 

How wonderful and loving our Heavenly Father is! He gives us His word telling us He knows we will fall. He knows we will face darkness. He knows this world and our enemies are against us; but He gives us peace and assurance that He will take care of us! He has already overcome this world and with His strength we can overcome too!

 

This week I challenge you and myself to cast your cares on God.

1 Peter 5:7-8 (KJV)

7-Casting all your care upon him; for he careth for you.

8-Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil, as a roaring lion, walketh about seeking whom he may devour:

Have a Blessed week in Christ!

Jeanie Hannah

Weekly Exercise:

-Talk to God each day.

-Search out scripture to help with the situations you face.

-Build your faith and trust in God by putting in more of what He says and let His word take captive of your thoughts.

-Utilize your journaling to purge your struggles and hurt feelings. Write them out and leave them at the foot of the cross for Christ to take care of.